Skip to content

Photo Challenge #60 – Short Story

Photo Challenge

My legs launched me forward. I frantically ran hard from the back entrance of the club house. I flung my body perpendicular into the pool, turning my shoulders on the way down so I could catch the concrete edge with my hands.

Please, please don’t let them have seen me. 

Earlier that day
*************

This morning I woke up in a fog, which was unusual for me, especially of all days. Today was my seventeenth birthday! I had been looking forward to this day for practically months. I had made plans to meet my best friends, Danielle and Ava, for lunch at the local Country Club.

I began my daily routine by squeaking on the shower head. I’d hoped that the warm water would be comforting. It had worked. I stepped out of the shower and the strange feeling that woke up with me was replaced with excitement for the day. Quickly I did my make-up and put on my favorite new white summer dress. My dad had bought it for me as an early birthday present. To my surprise, I absolutely adored the dress. Usually I give all the clothes my father buys me away to charity. We have much different tastes in style.

I rushed downstairs calling out to my mother, “Mom?” No answer. She must be out grocery shopping. At least that’s what I think she did on Saturday mornings. I grabbed my keys to my Toyota Corolla practically skipping out the front door. My God, the weather couldn’t have been more perfect for my birthday.

I arrived early at the Country Club, not minding that my friends graciously took their time on their personal appearances. I made my way through the opened dark-stained wooden master doors and headed to the back of the club where my poolside celebration would take place. I stepped out onto the patio when I saw them. I froze. Confusion washed over me.

I lost my balance from the unexpected blow, falling backwards a couple steps. Everything was moving in slow motion. My peripheral vision blurred and my pupils narrowed fixing on the focal of my stare from across the pool. I stood motionless. Not one single thought was able to formulate. They began to stand up. With full force I lurched back into reality, my pupils dilating with fear. Desperately not wanting to be seen, my eyes rapidly darted in every direction seeking cover.

My legs launched me forward. I frantically ran hard from the back entrance of the club house. I flung my body perpendicular into the pool, turning my shoulders on the way down so I could catch the concrete edge with my hands. In that moment I became a stealth spy, surprising myself with how graceful and discrete my plunge had turned out to be. I didn’t care that I had just potentially ruined my new favorite dress as long as they didn’t see me. I lowered my body deep into the chilled water.

I silently watched them walk back into the club house together, their fingertips touching each others playfully but never holding onto the other.

There I was on my seventeenth birthday, fully clothed in the Country Club’s pool, trying to figure out how I was going to cope with my Mother’s affair.

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/05/12/photo-challenge-60-still-may-12-2015/

4 Comments »

  1. Welcome to the prompt what a privilege to have you! I love how the story begins and ends in the same place, it is all beautifully tied together and extremely compelling. Excellent job!

    Like

    • To me, the girl in the picture looked like she was hiding in some way. I wanted to create a suspense story that went along with the way I perceived the girl in the pool! I’m new at writing short stories – I need to work on better imagery Haha but thank you for the comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

